The Magazine

Previews of upcoming events, Race & Rally Reports, News, Reviews, Letters and Regulation Information from Historic Motor Racing News.

These stories are all from the pages of Historic Motor Racing News.  Some have been abbreviated for this web site.  If you'd like to receive the full version, go to Subscribe where you will find postal subscriptions available.  A full subscription also entitles you to access the current issue online (available soon), so you can take it with you and read it anywhere, and we are working on providing full access to our archives of back issues exclusively for our subscribers.  Those who subscribe online are automatically given access to our bulletin board area.

Contents October Issue:  Latest News - Bits & Pieces - Rally News Tour Auto, Rally Asturias, Scottish Malts, VSCC Mallory Park, Seven Questions with Jean Ragnotti, Monterey Motorsport Reunion, Oulton Park Gold Cup, French Championships, Historic Tour Val de Vienne, Hockenheim Historic, Vallelunga Classic, Goodwood Revival (four pages form Marcus Pye) and the Limonest Hillclimb

Subscribe Now and read all these stories!

MAGAZINE  >  LATEST NEWS  > Masters Champions

Masters Champions

The 2019 FIA Masters Champions are Matteo Ferrer-Aza, Martin Stretton, Henry Fletcher, Jason Wright/Andy Wolfe and Chris Jolly/Steve Farthing.  Ferrer-Aza is the new post-78 FIA Masters Historic Formula One champion, with Stretton and Fletcher lifting the post-83 and pre-78 titles respectively.  Wright and Wolfe took top honours in the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship, while Jolly and Farthing prevailed in the FIA pre-66 section.

The Wright/Wolfe Lola T70 leads out the FIA Sportscar pack at Brands Hatch in July Wright
doubled up by also claiming the sportscar version of the Grand Master Trophy Photos Eric Sawyer

Masters of America

Meanwhile, on the other side of the Atlantic, Brits rule, as Greg Thornton and Ron Maydon emerged as the 2019 Masters Historic Formula One USA Champions.  The globe-trotting Thornton lifted the post-78 crown in his Lotus 91, while Masters boss Maydon, who contested all the races, took pre-78 glory in his LEC CRP1.  Both titles were decided at the November 1-3 Masters support races to the Formula 1 United States Grand Prix at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas - the final round of this year’s six-race schedule.

Greg Thornton took two wins at Laguna Seca this year on his way to the Masters USA tle

MAGAZINE  >  LATEST NEWS  > Masters Champions